Julius Erving Celebrates at Sixers’ Championship Parade


Julius "Dr.J" Erving waves to fans during 76ers' championship celebration at Veterans Stadium in Philadelphia. © ROGER BARONE 1983

Julius "Dr.J" Erving waves to fans during 76ers' championship celebration at Veterans Stadium in Philadelphia (June 2, 1983). © ROGER BARONE 1983

~ by photosfromphilly on June 21, 2009.

5 Responses to “Julius Erving Celebrates at Sixers’ Championship Parade”

  1. […] Moses Malone proved to be the answer for Philly finally getting over the hump while Julius Erving and the 76ers were paraded through the Vet during a Phillies game *photos courtesy of nba.com and Photos from Philly blog […]

    • Hi Joe, thanks so much for that fascinating story. I will look for your video and link to it someplace. Thanks even more for visiting my blog and contributing your inciting commentary. Best always, roger barone

  2. HelloI, I am Joseph Lee Hooker . I am glad to have found this site .I was Blessed to have performed “We Love The Sixers ” on Guitar in Rocky Balboa’s Boxing ring during the victory Parade For the World Championship at Vet Stadium on June 2,1983.I remember as I approached the Microphone it sounded like thunder. When I was finished you could hear a pin drop. That was the biggest crowd I ever Got to perform in front of .The song can be found on the internet if someone would like to download it . The song “We Love the Sixers ” actually was my first record I ever made and was released on a 45 Vinyl record on Logo III , Camden, NJ.Michael Nise and Recorded at Powerhouse Recording Studios 413 Cooper St , Camden NJ .
    Joseph Lee Hooker Singer -Songwriter , Performer for “We Love The Sixers” available for download. At. http://www.comealiveusa.com/sixers

  3. Roger Barone, I love the Photo of Dr J.
    It is the only thing I have found concerning the victory Parade at Vet Stadium.
    He was my favorite Ball player at the time .
    I will always remember them pulling into Vet Stadium in their convertibles . Do you have other photos of the celebration at Vet Stadium in a book or the internet . Do you have a picture of a guy playing guitar and singing “We Love The Sixers “Song at Vet Stadium during the celebration ? If so I think the guy would be really grateful .
    He is 62 yrs old now. Please let me know.
    Thank you for this site and your photo Of “Doctor J”

  4. Joe, I have hundreds of photos from that day, but only scanned a couple of them. I have nearly a hundred thousand images to scan…and only one lifetime…Thanks again, but I’ll keep you in mind when I start scanning again. I will look for a guitarist though…but I came in with the team, so it’s unlikely that I’ve photographed you.

Leave a Reply

 
