ROD STEWART RUNNING TO BACKSTAGE DRESSING ROOM AT THE SPECTRUM ARENA (10/12/1975)


Rod Stewart running to Spectrum Arena dressing rooms backstage. © roger barone 1975

Rod Stewart appears as an impressionistic painting as he runs up the backstage ramp to the Spectrum dressing rooms, while balancing a glass of wine in his right hand. Spectrum changeover crew member Joe Carmichael is visible on the right. Carmichael, a devoted fan of Stewart, got an autograph and several photos taken with him. © ROGER BARONE 1975

ROD STEWART & FACES: THE SPECTRUM (October 12, 1975)

On several occasions I brought my brother backstage to meet some of his favorite performers. Rod Stewart being one of them. Moments before this photo was taken, Rod was posing for a photo with my brother, arms draped around each others’ shoulders.

My camera jammed. Rod was in a hurry and tried to walk away. My brother grabbed his hand and wouldn’t let go. Rod tried to break free. I frantically tried to fix the camera. My brother hung onto Stewart’s arm as he tried to shake loose; all the while,  my brother continued smiling into the camera. Suddenly Stewart escaped, and began running up the hallway with a glass of wine in his right hand.

As he ran toward me,  my camera began to work again.   I quickly panned the camera as he ran past. The picture has an artistic impressionism quality  to it. Although, I didn’t get the shot of Stewart and  my brother, we did get one zany story and a great Spectrum memory.

~ by photosfromphilly on December 8, 2011.

One Response to “ROD STEWART RUNNING TO BACKSTAGE DRESSING ROOM AT THE SPECTRUM ARENA (10/12/1975)”

  1. I love this story!

Leave a Reply

 
